Fitness Friday: Week One

by Natalie Heather

As you may or may not know, I have recently started a health & fitness routine. This morning I worked out for the fourth day in a row. The intensity of the last four days outstrips my other exercise routines for the last 4 months, but that’s really not saying much. I really am not much of a physical person.

Friday will be my weigh-in and measure day. You can track my progress with me here, and every Friday I will tell you about my week in terms of fitness.

On Tuesday morning, I woke up at 7AM with my sister, Gillian, and we headed to the workout area in our basement. I spent a grueling 45 minutes on the treadmill; 40 minutes of inclined fast paced walking, and 5 minutes of a very slow, no incline walk to cool down with stretching before and after. Calories burnt? 240. I was thrilled. I usually only can manage to burnt 100 calories at every workout previously. After the killer 45 minutes, I did a 10 minute ab workout. You set the timer for 10 minutes and do 20 crunches, 20 lie-on-back-with-arms-above-head-and-touch-lifted-leg-with-opposite-hand (clearly I don’t know the name of this exercise…), followed by 20 crunches, 20 LOBWAAHATLLWOH, 20 more crunches, and 20 more LOBWAAHATLLWOH. With whatever time you have left on the timer, you do Twist Crunches Elbow to Opposite Knee. Does it sound painful? It was.

Wednesday morning was much of the same, except Gillian and I got up at 6AM. I spent another 45 minutes on the treadmill; 40 minutes of inclined fast paced walk, as well as some, gasp, jogging and running! I still had the 5 minutes of very slow, no incline walking to cool down, but I burnt 273 calories. Yes, I was proud of my improvement! I did some stretches before and after the treadmill, and then I did jumping jacks while I waited for Gillian to finish her yoga video. She then taught me numerous exercises to help me with my legs, abs, shoulders, chest, and arms. Gillian went home to London, England on Wednesday night, and is going to write me up an exercise program for while she is away.

Thursday morning was, again, much of the same again, except Gillian, as I explained, was not there. I got on that darn’d treadmill for the third day in a row, and  man, was I sore! I burnt 252 calories and did my stretching before and after. Not my best day, but not my worst either! It was followed with the 10 minute ab workout program. I was sore all day.

Friday morning, this morning, I was up at 6AM. Said hello to the parents, had a bit of fruit, and mozzied on down to the basement. It was not the best workout day. I did some stretching, and 20 Jumping Jacks. Afterwards, I only managed 25 minutes on the treadmill (5 minutes cool down) and burnt 147 calories. I did the 10 minute ab workout afterwards. I also did 20 Donkey Kicks (on each side) and 20 Wall Push-Ups.

Overall, I’m really proud with how my first week went. I never would’ve expected myself to be able to get up extra early for four days in a row and do pretty intense workouts. I somehow feel like I’m not doing enough, though, despite working out more this week than in the last 4 months.

Trainer’s Note: “Amazing work!! You worked really hard for your first week, and don’t worry about not doing enough, we will up the intenstity every week! Just keep pushing yourself!!”

