Fitness Friday: Week Two

by Natalie Heather

And here is the weekly update for my week (in terms of fitness)! Keep track of my progress with me here. If you saw my progress last week, you’ll notice that I’ve lost weight but put on inches. What does this tell me? Lowering my intensity puts me right back to the start.

Monday morning my alarm was put on snooze three times before I could get myself out of bed. I then received a call I didn’t recognize (one of those 123456 numbers) so I ignored it. Turns out it was my sister wishing me a good work out. Whoops! As every other day, I got into my workout gear, had some fruit, then headed to the dungeon. The workout was quite different from last week. It went as follows:

 Stretch
 Walk  5 minutes
 Stretch
 Squats with Ball  3 x 15
 Lunges  3 x 15
 Donkey Kick  3 x 12
 Jog/Run  5 minutes
 Lateral Raises  3 x 15
 Chest Press  3 x 15
 Dips  3 x 15
 Stair Run  2 minutes
 Bicep curls  3 x 15
 Overhead Raise on Ball  3 x 15
 Superman  3 x 15
 Crunches  3 x 20
 Obliques  3 x 15
 Knee to Elbow  3 x 15
 Walk  5 minutes
 Stretch

Isn’t that crazy? I’m definitely very proud of myself.

Tuesday was another day that was hard to get up. Sore from the workout on Monday, it was harder, but (luckily) shorter. When I got into bed on Tuesday night, parts of my body I didn’t even know existed were sore. That’s a gross exaggeration. But I was sore.

 Stretch
 Walk  5 minutes
 Stretch
 Deadlifts with Dumbell  3 x 15
 Roll Ball; feet to bum  3 x 15
 Woodchops  3 x 20
 Jumping Jacks  2 minutes
 Side Lunges with Dumbbells  3 x 15
 Back Extension with Dumbbells  3 x 15
 Horizontal Extension  3 x 15
 Run  2 minutes
 Tricep Kickback on Bench  3 x 15
 Hammer Curls with Dumbbells  3 x 15
 Wall Push Ups  3 x 15
 Walk  5 minutes
 Stretch

Wednesday was one of the most disappointing day. I was sore and I wasn’t feeling well. I walked on the treadmill for 15 minutes with a teeny-tiny incline (burnt 78 calories), but that’s all I could handle in the morning. I even had to have a nap before going to work. I made sure to walk during my lunch break, and in the evening I did my 10 minute ab workout (you can see it in last week’s post here), Superman (2 x 20) and Jumping Jacks (50).

Fun fact: Dinner was that frozen lasagna dish that I ranted and raved about here, though it really wasn’t as good as I remembered it being.

Thursday was another disappointing day. Here is all I managed to do;

 Stretch
 Walk  5 minutes
 Stretch
 Squats with Ball  3 x 15
 Lunges  3 x 15
 Donkey Kick  3 x 12
 Jog/Run  5 minutes
 Lateral Raises  3 x 15
 Chest Press  3 x 15
 Dips  3 x 15
 Stair Run  2 minutes
 Bicep curls  3 x 15
 Overhead Raise on Ball  3 x 15
 Superman  3 x 15

But still, the fact that I was able to get up at 6 AM 4 out of 5 days is pretty darn impressive. Wait, wait, 4 out of 5? Yes, you read right… I didn’t even exercise this morning. I feel like a failure. I was up at 6, talked to my sister, who tried really hard to talk me into working out, but for some reason, I would not do it. I think getting up two hours earlier than usual for the last two weeks has made me more tired than I realized. I have vowed to get up tomorrow morning to do the workout I was meant to do today, though. As on Wednesday, I made a point to walk at lunch time.

Overall, in complete honesty, I’m disappointed in my week. I even miss being sore. Being sore at least shows I did something! I think I’m going to start putting “thinspiration” around the house in places I can see it; mainly when I wake up and when I’m on the treadmill.

Inspiration of the week: Melinda’s Fitness Blog. From diet to strength training, motivation to supplements, she covers it all. I will definitely check back to this blog every few days to catch up on tips for this battle that so many of us face.

