Fitness Friday: Week Three

by Natalie Heather

I’m going to warn you now; this week has been pretty horrible in terms of fitness. Actually, it’s been pretty horrible in all ways, but you can still check out my progress here.
Now, we know that last Friday I didn’t do my workout (bad girl!) but I managed to do it on Saturday evening and it went as follows:

Stretch  
Walk 5 minutes
Stretch  
Squats with Ball 3 x 15
Lunges 3 x 15
Donkey Kick 3 x 12
Jog/Run 5 minutes
Lateral Raises 3 x 15
Chest Press 3 x 15
Dips 3 x 15
Stair Run 2 minutes
Bicep curls 3 x 15
Overhead Raise on Ball 3 x 15
Superman 3 x 15
Crunches 3 x 20
Obliques 3 x 15
Knee to Elbow 3 x 15
Walk 5 minutes
Stretch  

Monday morning was my first day back at school. I was up at 5:30AM to get my workout done before school. It just so happens that I had my first gym class that day, Volleyball. It turns out it’s not actually volleyball though, but circuit training. For this reason, on Monday’s I won’t be working out at home. I’ll have the circuit training instead! Here’s what I did on Monday morning before class:

Stretch  
Walk 5 minutes
Stretch  
Deadlifts with Dumbell 3 x 15
Roll Ball; feet to bum 3 x 15
Woodchops 3 x 20
Jumping Jacks 2 minutes
Side Lunges with Dumbbells 3 x 15
Back Extension with Dumbbells 3 x 15
Horizontal Extension 3 x 15
Run 2 minutes
Tricep Kickback on Bench 3 x 15
Hammer Curls with Dumbbells 3 x 15
Wall Push Ups 3 x 15
Walk 5 minutes
Stretch  

Now, Tuesdays were my days off because I had a class at 8:30, which meant I had to get the bus at 7:00, which means to be able to work out and be ready in time, I’d have to get up somewhere around the 4AM time. That just didn’t seem sane. So Tuesday was my day off and I didn’t work out.

Wednesday was not a good day either. I was very ill (I missed one of my first classes!) and therefore didn’t work out in the morning.

Thursday was another no-go day, though I spent the afternoon walking around downtown Montreal. I know, it doesn’t count as a workout.

And finally, Friday morning, this morning. My mom and I had decided to go to the local gym (where she is a member) for me to try it out. Let me tell you, I loved it! We only had time for a 30 minute workout, but I was able to do a lot. I did the step machine for 25 minutes (5 cool down) and burn 268 calories. I was blown away. It’s incredible how much you can burn on a step machine. They have a few weekly classes that my mom and I are thinking of doing, including yoga, pilates, and spin/yoga. We’re thinking of maybe doing 3/4 classes a week, though that is subject to change. I really like working out at a gym, especially compared to the basement of the house. It is a lot nicer.

But do you know what I’ve noticed? Besides feeling like an absolute failure… I haven’t been hungry. The first two weeks, when I worked out more regularly, I had this kind of pulsating hunger. It almost took control.

As I mentioned here, I wanted to get some thinspiration around the house. I did it! I printed a few photos that really made me want to push myself harder.

Inspiration of the week: Her Fitness Blog. “I’m a woman who has struggled with weight most of my life and I was very sad when my doctor told me that I should lose weight. He said I was border line overweight with high cholesterol and high blood pressure.”

