Panic! Blog Makeover

by Natalie Heather

You may have noticed that the blog has a new look – as well as a new name.

I am not over-exaggerating when I say it took weeks to come up with it. There are a few things I didn’t like about La Plume de mon Coeur, the main one being that it is in French.It means “the feather of my heart” or “the pen of my heart”. When I first came up with it, I loved the ambiguity. But the truth is, it really has nothing at all to do with what I wanted to blog about. Not to mention it’s long, and not at all catchy.

I wanted to find a new name that was short, sweet, and something to remember. I also didn’t want it to be something exclusive to a blog name. If ever this takes off, I would want to use the same name as blog and shop. For some reason, that made a difference.

I did many searches on “most popular fashion blog names” and “how to come up with a good blog name”. When I first started trying to think of a new name a few months ago, I ended up with a page of clothing/fashion related words. Nothing worked together, though. A few things sounded ok, but nothing seemed to fit. I know a few people who maybe got a little frustrated with me when I asked for help, then politely declined their suggestions. I must give my dad A+ for creativity, though.

The search for a name commenced again this morning. I, again, did a few searches to get the creative juices flowing. Let me just say, thank goodness for Independent Fashion Bloggers. There were two posts that really helped me get my creativity going: 10 Tips For Naming Your Fashion Blog and The Blogger Name Generator: 9 Easy Ways To Name Your Blog. The latter is a bit more of a joke post, suggesting names such as “Dior & Dunkaroos” and “Karl Lagerfeldista”. Those names will definitely be remembered.

A few of our favourites are “History Heels”, “Downtown Daisies”, “Green Tea Diamonds”, and “Renaissance Ginger”. Another favourite was definitely “Books & Bow-ties”, but that didn’t really seem to fit. When I thought of Ivory Avenue, it was just perfect.

I had read a lot about bloggers who just came up with their names out of the blue and loved it – I was definitely not one of those.

