The Designing Style

by Natalie Heather

Don’t get me started on the controversial nature of popularity – I actually liked the Twilight books at the beginning, but with all the “twi-hard” fans (is that what they’re calling themselves know?) I couldn’t help but feel that by liking the books, I was inadvertently part of a cult.

On a similar note, I can’t help but feel that “old” and “vintage” items are becoming increasingly popular. For some reason, it’s imminent climax is making me shy away from it. I used to browse thrift stores weekly – and don’t get me wrong, I have had some pretty sweet additions to my wardrobe. But now that everybody is wearing over-sized blouses and vintage pencil skirts, I can’t help but feel like a copy-cat, and that’s something I dislike more than tuna.

I wouldn’t say I’m particularly original or “ahead” when it comes to trends, but I would rather not be one of the millions. We all know that trends, materials and colours come in and out of style (without this ever-changing circle of life, fashion wouldn’t be nearly as big as it currently is) – but I would rather have a wardrobe of colors and cuts that suits me, rather than trying to stay on what’s currently trending.  Oxblood, bordeaux, burgundy – whatever you’d like to call it – has recently exploded into the fashion world. For that very reason, I would rather go for a different color. Any color!

Peplum also rocketed into fashion-land faster than you can say taboo. I bought a peplum dress two years ago, so it wasn’t anything new to me. I have to say, it is flattering though. For that reason, I indulged and bought myself a mid-sleeve lace peplum top.

Ok, ok. I’m going around in circles. Why did you let me go on such a rant like that? What I really came here to do was show you some show-stopping pieces from The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Some of these are perfect displays of how fashion recycles.

I’m a sucker for gowns, so I obviously had to look up some of the prettiest dresses ever to be made. I don’t think you would be surprised if I told you it was all in the details…

Don’t deny it, you totally wish women still dress like this on a regular basis. I would love to have  closet full of ball gowns…

