The Little Black Skirt

by Natalie Heather

I find that I am always searching for that perfect black skirt. It ends up that I have a zillion black skirts. I can’t help but find the ways I’ve been styling my black skirts are… well, boring, to say the least. Pairing it with any old shirt feels like taking the easy way out (not to mention the outfit is completely uninspiring).

Here are a few ways to spice up that little black pencil skirt that we all own. The skirt featured in each of these three outfits is by Donna Karan – a simple, elegant and timeless skirt.

Try a little cute

Cleopatra Choker / Dainty Dramatist HeelAllude Cropped Cardigan / Michael Kors Slim Runway Watch / Michael Kors Leather Tote

Inspired by Emma Pillsbury, the adorable guidance counsellor (and an obsessive germaphobe) from Glee portrayed by Jayma Mays, this outfit is cute, clean and colorful. Her outfits often feature simple, bright clothing with a great statement necklace, or even collar clips. I can’t help but love every one of her outfits. You may want to check out which of her fashion tips to steal from The Budget Babe.

classic color

Bead My Baby NecklaceJoseph Sailor Striped Cashmere Sweater / Dolce Vita Colorblock PumpsAlexander Wang Tote

What can I say, I love a good print and a solid color. Adding the pop of color at the neckline as well as well as at the other end of tip, the color isn’t overwhelming.

touch of class

Alexander Wang Silk Georgette BlouseLanvin Rhinestone Necklace / Giorgio Armani Ankle Strap Pump / Givenchy Antigona BagDiamond Geo Ponte Blazer / Black Floral Lace Tights

Talk about a touch of class. The majority of these pieces are in everybody’s wardrobe – the white blouse, suede pump, classic statement necklace… even the lace tights.

I’m sure you can feel the Polyvore vibe going on, that’s right – I’ve been inspired.

So what do you think? Do these work? Would you wear them?

